top of page

My vacation outfit guide


Recently, I traveled to Thailand for seventeen days to watch the Miss Universe competition. I only packed a carry-on suitcase and backpack which, houses my laptop and camera. To some that sounds impossible, but half way through the trip I realized I overpacked. As someone who loves to wear a different outfit, with accessories, for each day, here's how I selected my vacation looks while still saving room in my suitcase for souvenirs.


1. Lighten your load - I minimize the weight of my suitcase and save space by planning my wardrobe around two pairs of shoes, one of which I wear on my flight. For this trip I packed clean white sneakers and metallic sandals, because a classic pair of strappy metallic sandals can be paired with nearly anything.


2. Plan ahead - The reason I overpacked was because I planned an outfit for almost every day of my trip. My plan was to have a few items washed at my hotel when I was traveling but it turns out that I spent several days laying by the pool in my swimsuit and robe, so I didn't need the extra outfits after all. Having a general idea of what you'll wear on each day of your trip is essential for packing light. This way you only bring what you need, and you can skip the "just incase" outfits.


3. Thin it out - My last tip today seems obvious but it really helps. When shopping for your wardrobe keep fabrics thin. This is usually what you want to pack for warmer climates anyways but I still make a point of looking for light fabrics. After they're selected I roll each garment and place it in a packing cube. this saves so much space and keeps you completely organized. (GRAB YOUR PACKING CUBES HERE)


4. 20 under 20 - My last suggestion is following the 20 under 20 rule. If you're on the fence about packing something like a toiletry item, ask yourself, "Can I find this item within twenty minutes of my destination for under $20?" If the answer to this question is yes, then don't pack it. If you happen to need it on your trip, then you can purchase one nearby.


By following simple rules like these you can easily minimize your packing list while saving time and money on checked baggage fees. Another great upside of packing light is that you'll never worry about the airport losing your bags again. Bon voyage and safe travels my friend!




215 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page